Section Heading

Section Heading


Malaysia Airlines and Singapore Airlines Expand Codeshare Arrangements


The two airlines have announced the expansion to include more destinations for their passengers

Amid the gradual reopening of international borders and increase in demand for air travel, Malaysia Airlines and Singapore Airlines has announced the expansion of their codeshare arrangement to include 15 domestic points in Malaysia, seven destinations in Europe and two cities in South Africa.

The announcement was made following the launch of the Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) between Malaysia and Singapore beginning 29 November 2021, which provides vaccinated travellers with an easier journey between the two countries.

“Malaysia Airlines looks forward to the long-awaited VTL between Kuala Lumpur and Singapore, the first VTL for Malaysia. We look forward to more VTLs for Malaysia so we can safely revive travel globally. Our codeshare expansion with SIA to Europe and South Africa couldn’t happen at a better time and we are especially grateful for the synergy and warm relationship between the two airlines, that has made this partnership possible,” said Malaysia Airlines Group Chief Executive Officer Izham Ismail in a joint-statement from the two airlines.

Singapore Airlines Chief Executive Officer Goh Choon Phong reiterated Izham and said the expanded cooperation between the two airlines coincides with the launch of the VTL.

“It will also help to boost the tourism industries in both countries, as well as the wider Southeast Asia region. The partnership is a testament to the spirit of collaboration that underpins the strong and long-standing relationship between Singapore Airlines and Malaysia Airlines,” he said.

Starting from 29 November 2021, Singapore Airlines customers will be able to connect on Malaysia Airlines services out of Kuala Lumpur as the carrier adds 15 new codeshare destinations in Malaysia. These are Alor Setar, Bintulu, Johor Bahru, Kota Kinabalu, Kuala Terengganu, Kuantan, Kuching, Labuan, Langkawi, Miri, Penang, Sandakan, Sibu, and Tawau.

From 1 January 2022, Malaysia Airlines customers will be able to connect on SIA’s flights from Singapore to seven points in Europe – Barcelona, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Moscow, Munich, Rome, and Zurich – as well as Cape Town and Johannesburg in South Africa.

The two airlines will progressively add more points to the codeshare arrangements. Subject to regulatory approvals, the codeshare flights will be progressively made available for sale through the airlines’ respective booking channels.

For more information, please visit Malaysia Airlines or Singapore Airlines official website.

Section Heading